Important – In Australia, Reckon Accounts is a rebranded version of QuickBooks with the same underlying API, so the salesIn integration will work for both products.
This guide applies to both QuickBooks Premier and Reckon Accounts, but will hereafter refer to both products as QuickBooks.

SalesIn works seamlessly with QuickBooks so you don’t have to manually enter information into both systems.

Your customers and products from QuickBooks are available for use in SalesIn, and sales flow back to QuickBooks automatically.

This essentially happens automatically, so we’ve listed a series of Frequently Asked Questions to help paint the picture as to what goes on behind the scenes.

How does it work?

  • Your customer and product info is uploaded to SalesIn, so that you can use this data to make sales in SalesIn
  • Your sales are then downloaded from SalesIn into QuickBooks.

What data is transferred to SalesIn?

  • Customers and Addresses
  • Items (including item categories / sub groups, tax codes etc.)
  • Price Level Lists
  • Stock Levels

When are sales downloaded to QuickBooks?

In SalesIn we have a “Status” field against all sales, and this is used as a flag to know that the order is ready to be downloaded into QuickBooks. By default, SalesIn comes with an Open and Closed status, but you can add as many as you like. When your QuickBooks integration is first installed, its default setting is to look for any Open sales and download them to QuickBooks. Once downloaded, these are set to Closed. You can control both of these actions using the Account Settings area in the Integration software.

SalesIn supports an unlimited number of Sale Types, however it is important to note that only the Order, Invoice and Quote (Estimate) types will transfer to QuickBooks.

What happens after sales are downloaded to QuickBooks?

Once a sale has been downloaded into QuickBooks, by it is set to a Closed status in SalesIn.

With that in mind, it is important to note that once a sale is added to QuickBooks, all further changes to the sale must be made in QuickBooks. At this point, SalesIn considers the sale as “delivered” to QuickBooks, and will never download it again into QuickBooks even if changes are made to it in SalesIn. This is why we set the Status to Closed in SalesIn by default once the sale has been imported into QuickBooks – it’s the end of the line.

How does SalesIn handle invoice numbers?

SalesIn has its own sequential numbering for Sale ID’s, but when sales are downloaded into QuickBooks, they are allocated the next available number from QuickBooks.
This is then stamped onto the sale in SalesIn for reference and can be seen in the Sale Detail on the website and also the Sale List.

Do QuickBooks invoices get upload to SalesIn?

No – we do not upload existing QuickBooks invoices to SalesIn, or changes to existing ones (whether they originated in SalesIn or not).

If I create customers in SalesIn, will they get added to QuickBooks?

No – Currently SalesIn does not support adding new customers to QuickBooks, however, this feature is coming soon.

Why can’t I add or change customer details in SalesIn?

We turn this off so that you create new customers or make your changes to customers in QuickBooks and then have these replicate to SalesIn during the next Full Integration.
New customers or changes made to customers in SalesIn do not get saved to QuickBooks, only new customers are added to QuickBooks.

Can all of this happen automatically so that I don’t have to keep running the integration throughout the day?

Of course! Just setup a schedule in Account Settings.