To change and configure your Sale Statuses, go to the Administration menu, and under Sales, click on Sale Status.

What is this area for?

Every Sale has a Status assigned to it, and this area helps you create and manage those.
By default, SalesIn has Open and Closed statuses (both which cannot be changed or removed) which signify the start and the end of a sale’s life cycle.
You may want to add new Statuses to suit the workflow of your business.

Example 1
Jimmy works in the office on phone sales and sometimes needs to create quotes using the SalesIn website and send them out to reps in the field. He wants to know whether the rep has received them. He creates a Sales Status called “In Progress” and implements a business rule that when the reps receive an “Open” quote, they must mark its status as “In Progress” so that he knows it has been received.

Example 2
Jane has SalesIn set up and integrated with Xero. When her reps write invoices in the field, they don’t want them to immediately go to Xero, which is set up to transfer sales when they are “Open”. Instead, she creates a Sale Status called “Finalised” and changes the Xero integration settings to pick these up. Now, when her reps create new sales as “Open”, they don’t get picked up by Xero until they have marked the sale as “Finalised”, indicating they are finished with it.

Further tips

You can control the behaviour of individual Sale Statuses and make them Read Only, meaning no changes can be made while they are in that Status – unless a website user has the permission to modify Read Only sales. This is useful for locking down information from being changed.

You can also control whether sales of a certain status are Available on Devices. If a sale is set to a status that is not available on devices, it will be removed from the device and hidden until it is in a status that is available on devices.