SalesIn works seamlessly with Xero so you don’t have to manually enter information into both systems.
Your customers and items from Xero are available for use in SalesIn, and sales flow back to Xero automatically.

As both SalesIn and Xero are cloud based systems, this all happens automatically without you having to do anything.

How does it work?

  • Your customer and item info is uploaded to SalesIn, so that you can use this data to make sales in SalesIn
  • Your sales are then downloaded from SalesIn into Xero

What data is transferred to SalesIn?

  • Customers (as well as their billing and delivery addresses)
  • Items (including pricing and tax codes)

When are invoices downloaded to Xero?

In SalesIn we have a “Status” field against all sales, and this is used as a flag to know that the invoice is ready to be downloaded into Xero. By default, SalesIn comes with an Open and Closed status, but you can add as many as you like. When you first activate your Xero integration, its default setting is to look for any Open sales and download them to Xero. Once downloaded, these are set to Closed. You can control both of these actions using the Xero Settings page, found in the Administration area on the SalesIn web portal.

It is important to note that while SalesIn supports multiple Sale Types (eg. Order, Invoice, Quote, etc.) only the “Invoice” and “Credit Note” sale types will transfer to Xero, as these are the only transaction types Xero supports.

What happens after sales are downloaded to Xero?

Once a sale has been downloaded into Xero, by default it is set to a Closed status in SalesIn. You can change this action using the Xero Settings page, however it is recommended that a status change is made, so that users either know not to change the invoice, or are prevented from doing so (a Status can be Read Only).

With that in mind, it is important to note that once a sale is added to Xero, all further changes to the sale must be made in Xero. At this point, SalesIn considers the sale as “delivered” to Xero, and will never download it again into Xero even if changes are made to it in SalesIn. This is why we set the Status to Closed in SalesIn by default once the sale has been imported into Xero – it’s the end of the line.

How does SalesIn handle invoice numbers?

You can choose whether to carry through the SalesIn Sale ID as the Xero invoice number, or whether to ignore the SalesIn Sale ID altogether and just let Xero use its next available number. Change this in the Xero Settings page.

Do Xero invoices get upload to SalesIn?

No – we do not upload existing Xero invoices to SalesIn, or changes to existing ones (whether they originated in SalesIn or not).

If I create customers in SalesIn, will they get added to Xero?

Yes – SalesIn supports adding a new customer to Xero, as well as updating existing customer details.

How will I know if something goes wrong during the integration?

If you fill in an email address in the Xero Settings page, you’ll be notified if there’s a problem and what the problem is. Once this happens, the integration will be stopped and its up to you to rectify the problem and start it again.